Forums

Full Version: Pitch analysis and silence vs. speech detection with SignalLab
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

angelcaf

Hello,
I am new to SignalLab but I have been succesfully using VideoLab before.
Before asking my question I will put down some context (schematically)

- Real time audio processing
- Input is a mic
- Single user

This is what I need to do and my question is how using SignalLab?

1 - Need to detect whether the user is speaking or there is silence
2 - Need to do basic pitch analysis: within a region of the past 100ms of input I need to take two points (pitch value) and check whether there has been a raising/falling pitch of 30Hz.

What are the SignalLab components that I need to use for that?
Is it possible to detect (1)?
Please note that I would need to use some code for that and not just the visual components since i will need to use those information (voice vs. silence) for a higher level algorithm.

Thanks a lot in advance!
Angelo

Dave

Hi! Are you able to use AudioLab as well? For the input-level detection you could use a VU-meter, for the pitch analysis you could perhaps use a Fast-Fourier-Transition component.

Regards,
Dave

angelcaf

(12-08-2012 09:38 AM)Dave Wrote: [ -> ]Hi! Are you able to use AudioLab as well? For the input-level detection you could use a VU-meter

Hello Dave,
I do have AudioLab.
I have put the VU-Meter component into my form and set the Mode to Decibel and number of channels to 1 to have a single output pin.
My question is, how can I obtain via code the data coming out from the Output pin of the VU-Meter?

(even if I want to connect the output pin to a level detector component the question stays, how can I get the detector output/result via code when the level is below a certain threshold?)

Thanks a lot for your supprot!
Angelo

Dave